Connect with us


Battle of the Brits – Andy Murray’s return, where and how to watch



The six-day event will feature a men’s singles and doubles draw, featuring the likes of Andy Murray, Kyle Edmund and Dan Evans, and is being held to raise money for NHS Charities Together. All of the action will be free to view for those with an Amazon Prime account in the UK and Ireland, whilst Eurosport and the Tennis Channel will be airing matches for fans overseas.


The format for the men’s singles is the same as that used for the ATP Finals, with the eight players being split into two groups for round-robin play, and then the top two from each group advancing through to the knockout stages. The doubles event is similar but there are only six teams, split into groups of three, but again the top two in each group will progress through to the semi-finals.

Andy Murray

The singles groups have been named after Britain’s two stalwarts from the turn of the millennium, Tim Henman and Greg Rusedski. The players facing off in each group, along with their current ATP rankings, are as follows:

Tim Henman Group: James Ward (#273), Liam Broady (#211), Andy Murray (#129), and Kyle Edmund (#44)

Greg Rusedski Group: Jack Draper (#285), Jay Clarke (#167), Cameron Norrie (#77), and Dan Evans (#28)

Novak and Andy

Murray will take on Edmund in a clash of former British number ones on Wednesday 24th, with Murray holding a 3-1 head-to-head advantage on the ATP Tour, but it was Edmund who won last time they played on home turf, beating the two-time Wimbledon champion at Eastbourne in 2018. Dan Evans, the current British number one, will take on Cam Norrie, another top 100 player, on Thursday 25th. The pair have never played before on the main tour, but they faced each other in the final of a Challenger event back in 2016, with Evans coming out on top 6-3 6-4.

The doubles groups, named after Britain’s longest serving Davis Cup captain, Paul Hutchins, and the LTA’s first ever female president, Cathie Sabin, who passed away last month, are as follows:

Andy Murray of Great Britain congratulates Novak Djokovic of Serbia at the BNP Paribas Open

Paul Hutchins Group: Liam Broady / Cameron Norrie, Dan Evans / Lloyd Glasspool, and Jamie Murray / Neal Skupski

Cathie Sabin Group: Kyle Edmund / Jack Draper, Dom Inglot / Jay Clarke, and Joe Salisbury / Jonny O’Mara

Andy Murray and James Ward are the only players entered into the singles draw who are not also playing in the doubles. For the group stages, play will begin at 13:00 (BST) with five matches scheduled for each day. The order of play for the first three days, as posted on the LTA website, is here:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Nigerians Reacts as Tompolo makes first public appearance after six years amidst #EndSARS Protest



Government Oweizide Ekpemupolo, popularly known as Tompolo, has made his first public appearance after hiding for six years
Photos and video of Tompolo have surfaced on social media in the last few days.

Some social media users have been speaking on the timing of Tompolo’s reappearance amidst the ongoing unrest in the country.

Ex-Niger Delta militant leader, Government Oweizide Ekpemupolo, popularly known as Tompolo, has made his first public appearance after hiding for six years.

Tompolo, who led the disbanded Movement for Emancipation of Niger Delta (MEND), went into hiding in 2015.

At the time, the former militant leader was facing trial in an alleged N45.5billIon fraud case.

Tompolo makes first public appearance after six years.

A picture of his appearance showed the former warlord and his friends dancing, worshipping, and offering Thanksgiving to Egbesu, an Ijaw god.

“Tompolo probably came out as part of their annual festivities. Make una no dey find war for where war no dey abeg.”

“Fear the name Tompolo but he’s not here to fight, do be calm but his appearance is a strong message to federal government.

“He’s the general commander of all Niger Delta militant. They need to fear him because he can cripple government under two days.”

Continue Reading